Delete Instagram Step by Step
Using Instagram over a long period can cause severe addiction. It is better to get rid of the application and delete Instagram for good if it is clogging up your social and work life. Instagram is perhaps the most popular social media application right after Facebook. In fact, the Instagram account is directly linkable to Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. which gives you more motivation to waste your time using these applications.
If you are sick of watching the seemingly perfect and happy life of your contacts on the social media platform all day long, you need to delete Instagram right away. The filters and fake smiles on Instagram can make you believe that the lives of these people are really that good. However, you have no idea what is going on behind those filters.
Before I teach you how to delete an Instagram account for good, there are a few things that you should keep in mind.
Note: Read Before Deleting Your Instagram Account
- Once you delete an Instagram account permanently all your information from the platform is lost for good. All your likes, followers, following, videos, comments, photos, etc. vanish from the platform.
- After permanently deleting your account, you have no way or recovering the information back. So, if you plan on not using Instagram for a while to practice self-control, you might want to check out how to deactivate the account instead.
- You can deactivate the account to take a break and get back all your information just the way you left it on reactivating the account.
- You can use your username only once on Instagram. Unlike other social media platforms that allow others to use the same username again after account deletion, your username is permanently blocked and made unusable for good.
- It is always advisable to deactivate your Instagram account for a while rather than permanently delete it for good because in the second scenario you need to start afresh.
- Uninstalling the Instagram application from your smartphone is not the same as deleting the Instagram account for good. You need to follow different steps to remove your account permanently.
- Once you delete your account, all your photos and videos are automatically lost. Also, no one will be able to locate you on Instagram after you delete the account.
- You cannot delete your Instagram account in case you have forgotten your login credentials. You need to first recover the credentials using the Forgot Password feature to permanently delete the account.
So now that you know the various risks associated with deleting the Instagram account, I will teach you how to delete it for good.
Method to Delete Instagram Account Permanently
Below are the simple steps with which You can delete your Instagram account using the following steps.
- You cannot delete your account directly from the application. You first need to access the Instagram account deletion webpage here, from a web browser on your desktop, laptop or smartphone.
- Once you log in, you are asked for a reason to delete the account. You can enter any reason here.
- You need to add your password again to confirm your identity once.
- Click on Permanently Deactivate My Account after entering your password again to delete the account for good.
In case your addiction has reached a severe level where you spend hours every day scrolling through your feed double tapping each picture, you need to delete Instagram for good. Once you delete your Instagram account, you can grasp the real essence of life where you get to communicate with the people around you face to face and not via a screen.